How to watch NASA reveal the first images from the James Webb Space Telescope

How to watch NASA reveal the first images from the James Webb Space Telescope
ImageSource: NASA

Today and tomorrow, NASA will release the first color images taken by the agency's mighty James Webb Space Telescope, the largest and most powerful observatory ever sent into space. It's a pivotal moment for the telescope, signaling the beginning of scientific activities on a mission that could fundamentally transform astrophysics and our understanding of the Universe. 

The James Webb Space Telescope, aka JWST, is the largest mirror we've ever sent into space, measuring more than 21 feet in diameter. Made from gilded beryllium, the mirror is designed to collect infrared light - a type of light invisible to the human eye that can travel extremely long distances in the Universe. Armed with this impressive mirror, JWST will be able to peer into the deepest recesses of the universe, capturing light from the first stars and galaxies that formed shortly after the Big Bang.

To get here is an exceptionally long road. JWST has been in development for two and a half decades, with its journey constantly plagued by delays. Its budget also skyrocketed to nearly $10 billion, and controversy swirled around its name. But in the end, on Christmas Day 2021, the telescope was launched intact and as planned. Over the past six months, scientists and engineers have meticulously deployed, aligned, and calibrated the telescope, preparing for the first stunning images captured by the telescope to be revealed. 

Now, JWST is about to begin its first year of cosmic research, where a plethora of observations from scientists around the world are looking to study the formation of distant stars, galaxies, alien planets, and more. These images are just the beginning and just a taste of the exciting images yet to come. 

When Will NASA issue JWST's Images?

Everything starts this afternoon at the White House. For weeks, NASA had planned to release all the images by the morning of July 12, but over the weekend the agency surprised everyone by adding a last-minute White House briefing. on July 11 at 5 p.m. ET. Now President Joe Biden will reveal one of the first images this afternoon, with NASA Administrator Bill Nelson making remarks. 

Scheduled Time: New York: 5:00 pm / San Francisco: 2:00 pm / London: 10:00 pm / Berlin: 11:00 pm / Moscow: 12:00 am / New Delhi: 2:30 am / Beijing : 5:00 am / Tokyo: 6:00 am / Melbourne: 7:00 am

What About The Rest of the Images?

NASA has scheduled a series of briefings for July 12 to come up with the remaining images. First, at 9:45 a.m. ET, leaders from NASA, and the JWST team will deliver opening remarks. Then, at 10:30 a.m. ET, NASA is expected to reveal the rest of the images in a live stream, followed by a media press conference at Goddard's Goddard Space Flight Center. NASA at 12:30 p.m. ET. It's going to be a content-filled day, but if you just want to see the rest of the footage, 10:30 a.m. ET is the time to tune in. 

Scheduled Time: New York: 10:30 a.m. / San Francisco: 7:30 a.m. / London: 3:30 p.m. / Berlin: 4:30 p.m. / Moscow: 5:30 p.m. / New Delhi: 8:30 p.m. / Beijing: 10:30 p.m. / Tokyo: 11:30 p.m. / Melbourne: 12:30 am 

HOW TO SEE THE RELEASED IMAGES?

NASA will broadcast live on its dedicated channels, including NASA TV, which can be found on YouTube and the NASA website. The release will also be streamed on the NASA app as well as NASA's social media channels on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Twitch, and Dailymotion.


Source: TheVerge