Whatsapp Updated 3 New Useful Features; Check Details Here

Whatsapp Updated 3 New Useful Features

Over the past few weeks, we've seen reports that WhatsApp is rolling out a ton of new features for privacy-conscious users. And today, the Meta-owned messaging giant announced 3 such security features that will begin rolling out to all users in the coming weeks. This includes the ability to leave groups silently, block screenshots for See Once in WhatsApp photos, and hide the online status of contacts of your choice. So, let's take a closer look at each of these features. 

3 New Security Features in WhatsApp

In an official press release, WhatsApp said it "introduces new layers of protection that allow users to talk freely and have private conversations." The company prioritized the feature mentioned above based on an independent privacy study, which found that nearly 47% feel comfortable speaking honestly and unfiltered in a secure and unfiltered space. private. 

In addition, about 51% of users want their online status to be hidden, while 91% of users prefer to use blocking features if they know about them. With that said, here's a  look at each  new feature: 

Hide Online Status in WhatsApp

Along with the existing ability to hide your "Last Seen" status in WhatsApp, the messaging app now allows you to appear offline (or hide your online status) with ease. Once enabled, other users will no longer see the "Online" tag under your name/phone number in chats, even if you are online and actively using WhatsApp. 

Once the feature is active, you'll need to go to Settings -> Accounts -> Privacy -> Last Seen. Here you'll find a new "Who can watch when I'm online" option. Check out this screenshot from tipster WABetaInfo to see what the feature looks like in action:

Last Seen Whatsapp Feature Update
Image Source: WABetaInfo

Leave WhatsApp Groups Silently

Bored with the constant talk and hello messages in family group chats? You can now leave a group chat without notifying all users of your decision. "From now on, instead of notifying the whole team when they leave, only the admins will be notified," the messaging giant stated in its press release. This is an important security feature for WhatsApp users. 

View Once Mode for Screenshots

Finally, WhatsApp introduces a feature that should have been there since day one for "Watch Once" photos and videos. The company will now prevent users from taking screenshots of disappearing photos and videos sent in chats. See Once the photos were deemed ephemeral, and the company has now realized that, that's a good thing. This feature is currently being tested and will be rolled out soon. 

So yes, in the coming months, Meta (formerly Facebook) will enhance WhatsApp's privacy features to give users more control over their online presence.